Meet our Bloggers
 

 

White House Live Streaming LGBT Conference on Safe Schools Early Tuesday

 
By Karen Ocamb
News Editor
 
 

The White House LGBT Conference on Safe Schools & Communities will be held in Arlington, Texas, on Tuesday, March 20, and will feature remarks by Attorney General Eric Holder and White House Senior Advisor Valerie Jarrett.

From the White House:

The morning session will be open to pre-credentialed media, and will include remarks by Attorney General Eric Holder, White House Senior Advisor Valerie Jarrett, and The University of Texas at Arlington President James Spaniolo. Administration officials participating in morning panel sessions include: Acting Director of the Justice Department Community Relations Services Becky Monroe, U.S. Attorney for the Western District of Texas Robert Pittman, U.S. Attorney for the Northern District of Texas Sarah Saldana, Acting Assistant Secretary for Elementary & Secondary Education Michael Yudin, and Torey Cummings with the Department of Justice Civil Rights Division.

Additionally, Judy Shepard, mother of the late Matthew Shepard and Co-Founder of the Matthew Shepard Foundation, will deliver remarks during the closing session.

The morning and closing sessions will be live streamed at whitehouse.gov/live. Tuesday, March 20—8:30 a.m. to 12 p.m. (CDT)// 6:30 a.m.-10 a.m. PST—Morning Session 
4:30 p.m.-5 p.m. (CDT)//2:30-3 p.m. PST—Closing Session

The gay paper the Dallas Voice will be live-tweeting—@DallasVoice and has a preview of the conference here. The Human Rights Campaign has a breakdown of the issues to be discussed here. And the National Center for Transgender Equality also released their blueprint for Safe and Supportive Schools, a chapter in a forthcoming publication, A Blueprint for Equality: A Federal Agenda for Transgender People.

Leave a comment:

· Subscribe to comments
Be the first to comment here.